Demonstrable Demographics

After reading several of the blogs that my classmates have made, it has become clear that there are many similarities that can be found between the blogs of my classmates. I noticed many similarities in the strategies used for hailing by classmates. I noticed that there were many shared interests between the males in my class. I also noticed that there were similar interests shared between females. After viewing the ads that were chosen by the females in my class, it was obvious that they chose ads similar to their interests. For example, I had come across many advertisements chosen by females that involved makeup, or cosmetic products. A female in my class stated in her blog “The advertisement I have chosen is for Revlon mascara” (http://mb12qe.wordpress.com/2013/11/07/what-the-hail/). In my opinion, this advertisement is a typical one to be chosen by females in my class because the majority of girls enrolled in this class are around the same age, thus share a lot of similar interests. I noticed that many guys have also chosen advertisements of similar interests. Rather than choosing advertisements about makeup or hair products, many males had chosen advertisements based off of their interests such as sports or athletic gym ads. In Liam’s blog he stated: “The advertisement I picked for this weeks blog entry was from a popular Nike poster for their new launch of sporting and work out goods to come in the new year” (http://dunsey.wordpress.com/2013/11/08/what-the-hail/). A major similarity obviously shared by both men and women when hailing, is that they choose advertisements that they can relate to. This usually involves choosing ads that reflect themselves personally whether it is an ad involving similar age, interests etcetera.  In Allen’s blog he says: “Right from the get go, one can tell that it hails to young men in their early twenties, and not just men, but heterosexual men as well” (http://arcpcf.blogspot.ca). This is evident because Allen himself is most likely almost into his twenties and heterosexual. This is probably why Allen chose this advertisement for himself; because he can relate to this on a personal level.

            Demographics are portrayed and targeted in forms of media such as advertising. It is my personal opinion that companies do a good job in hailing targeted audiences of our particular demographic. It is known that they use certain strategies and techniques in order to hail these particular audiences. I believe that it is working because we can se reasons why certain people are so attracted, drawn to, or hailed to certain media aspects through reading the blogs of others and when examining ways in which I was personally geared towards the ad in which I chose. It is very interesting after reading he blogs made by my classmates because similarities and differences involved in which strategies work for different people become apparent. This is an effective way of hailing audience members when considering the fact that when releasing an ad, there is almost always a purpose for it and a targeted group of people that they are hoping to make this point to. Media is used to target specific members in society. This is made evident when examining the types of advertisements chosen between males and females. In my opinion, representations made in these interpellations are accurate and effective. I feel that the majority of companies are successful at portraying a message, especially when targeting a specific group. Strategies used are based upon what members in society are trying to be targeted.   

Leave a comment