Wanted: the media that we need

The media we want and the media we need are two different concepts. This becomes obvious when taken into consideration that people in the world censor the media to control the type of media they want. One of my classmates wrote in their blog “all these factors are well hidden from the majority of people because it seems that if the truth were actually revealed everyone would never trust the media again”(http://mm13sa.wordpress.com/2013/10/24/the-media-we-want/). Taking this quote from one of my classmate’s blogs proves that it is a shared opinion and a fact that the media is indeed censored and can be controlled by many people of higher authority and regularly members of the government. Although in my opinion, we get the media we want and want the media we get these are still two very different things. An example where it is evident that the media we want and the media we need are two different concepts is, if media needed to be released for the better good of the people in society despite the fact that there may be gruesome details involved and people in society do not want to hear horrific news. They may not want to hear of this news however they need to become aware of it for reasons such as ensuring the safety of the public.

Although the opinions of my classmates vary, my opinion still remains the same that the media we want and the media we need are two different concepts. My mind is also made up about the fact that we get the media we want, and want the media we get. I feel that for several reasons, both of these options apply to the question as stated in my blog entry #2. In Justin Gideon’s blog he states, “In my opinion, we want the media we get” (http://justingmsblog.blogspot.ca/2013/10/the-media-we-want.html). I agree with this statement that Justin had made however I also agree with other students in my class such as Chloe who states, “I think that we get the media we want because it is the only media we are exposed to” (http://chloebromhead.wordpress.com/). I feel that both of these people in my class made very valid points throughout their blogs and I cannot simply disagree with either of them. Thus, I agree with both of their opinions.

I feel very strongly that basically all aspects of the media better inform us of social, political, cultural, and economic issues. Not only does the media inform citizens of these issues in obvious forms such as the news, it informs us subconsciously. Information revealed by the media is present in most television shows, magazines and basically every form of media. Several television shows are made with the intent of having based off of some of these issues. Media surrounds us and influences as well as guides our lives whether we realize it or not. Over the years, media popularity and usage has dramatically increased. As a result of this, people’s entire ways of living have also been altered. I found out from reading other students in my classes blogs that there are other people that agree with my opinion that the media surrounds us. It is obvious that Justin and I share this opinion when he states, “The media almost always surrounds us, in the form of social media, technology, language, and advertising” (http://justingmsblog.blogspot.ca/2013/10/the-media-we-want.html).

The media we want and the media we need are two different concepts. They mean completely different things in my opinion. Media is censored so that usually the only media revealed to the public is the media we want, however this is not always the case. Sometimes the benefits of the media we need defeat the media we want. Media we want is the kind of media people enjoy being exposed to while the media we need is media that is released with a motive and reason. From my blog we can understand that the media we want and the media we need are two different concepts. 

Leave a comment